Kentucky Bourbon Hall of Fame inducts new members

Eight new members have been inducted into the elite ranks at the ceremony held at The Legacy at Log Still Distillery

The Kentucky Bourbon Hall of Fame has inducted eight whiskey legends into its prestigious ranks. The list is made up of distillery founders, craftsmen, influential government leaders, a ground-breaking activist and the first father and son to share the honor in the same class.

The event attracted an all-time high number of guests, with 300 attending the luncheon ceremony at The Legacy at Log Still Distillery, Nelson County. The invitation-only event is held annually in conjunction with the Kentucky Bourbon Festival.

Kentucky Gov. Andy Beshear congratulated the inductees and thanked the packed crowd for investing billions of dollars to grow the global industry here at home while building and strengthening local communities in every part of the Commonwealth.

“Kentucky’s signature Bourbon industry employs thousands of our people to produce a product that is known and loved around the world,” Gov. Beshear said. “The Kentucky Bourbon Hall of Fame ceremony is a great chance to celebrate this industry and the innovators whose vision keeps pushing Kentucky Bourbon to new heights.”

Created in 2001 by the Kentucky Distillers’ Association, the Kentucky Bourbon Hall of Fame recognizes individuals and organizations that have made a significant impact on Bourbon’s stature, growth and awareness.

KDA president Eric Gregory said: “The Kentucky Bourbon Hall of Fame is always my favorite event of the year. It’s the one time where we all gather together to share our successes and toast the lives, legacies and journeys of those who have forever changed our timeless craft and played a major role in building a stronger Kentucky for generations to come.

“On behalf of the KDA, we offer our deepest thanks and heartfelt gratitude to this year’s inductees for their distinguished service to our industry and our beloved Commonwealth. We are an industry built on friendship and collaboration, and this year’s class is a testament to that tradition.”

This year’s inductees are, in alphabetical order:

  • Dr. Jerry O. Dalton, retired Master Distiller, Jim Beam
  • The late Mrs. Dixie Sherman Demuth, Owner, Dixie’s Elbow Room
  • Mr. Greg Fischer, former Mayor of Louisville, Ky
  • Mr. Pete Kamer, Owner, Distillery Engineering
  • Mr. Joseph J. Magliocco, President & CEO, Michter’s Distillery
  • Mr. Dean Watts, Former Nelson County Judge-Executive
  • Mr. Chester ‘Chet’ Zoeller, Author, Historian and Co-founder, Jefferson’s Bourbon
  • Mr. Trey Zoeller, Founder, Whiskey Maker & Chief Strategist, Jefferson’s Bourbon

Candidates are nominated each year by the KDA and its member distilleries. A blue-ribbon committee, including all living recipients of the Parker Beam Lifetime Achievement Award, reviews and selects applicants in three categories: industry, roll of honor and lifetime achievement. 

0 comments on “Kentucky Bourbon Hall of Fame inducts new members

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: